Early on, Christians began to divide the year into several seasons, each observing a different aspect of the life of Jesus.

The year begins with Advent, which is followed by Christmastide, Epiphany, Lent, Easter, and a long stretch called “Ordinary Time.” Observing the seasons is a simple way to broaden our exposure to the full life and heart of Jesus, discovering ever deeper implications for our lives and our world. Mosaic’s worship services generally flow with the seasons, and most draw on the weekly lectionary readings.

December 3 to December 24, 2017
Preparing to receive Jesus
December 25, 2017 to January 5, 2018
Celebrating the Savior's arrival
January 6 to February 13, 2018
God has been revealed
February 14 to March 31, 2018
Searching for gardens in the desert
April 1 to May 20, 2018
Life overcomes death
May 21 to December 1, 2018
Jesus' story becomes ours
Holidays and Observances
December 24, 2017
Wood Inlay Face
January 6, 2018
February 14, 2018
March 25, 2018
March 29, 2018
March 30, 2018
April 1, 2018
May 20, 2018

What's the lectionary?

For centuries, churches have used lectionaries to guide the structure and content of their worship. In general terms, lectionaries provide pre-selected sets of Scripture readings for use at specific times. One of the most commonly used lectionaries for Western Christians is the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), a three-year cycle of scriptures that's aligned with the traditional church calendar. It is applied more or less strictly depending on the denomination and local congregation’s styles. Throughout the year, the RCL offers four Scripture passages for each week: two from the Old Testament (always including a Psalm) and two from the New (always including a passage from one of the Gospels).